Champion Beer of Scotland

Swannay Orkney IPA Logo
Champion Beer of Scotland 2018
CBOS 2018 Presentation
George Howie accepts the award from Sarah Crawford.

The judges have tasted, deliberated and their votes have been counted.  The result is in and we are happy to announce that the Gold award goes to Orkney IPA a 4.8% golden ale brewed by Swannay and  is crowned Champion Beer of Scotland 2018.  George Howie of Aberdeen, Grampian & Northern Isles CAMRA accepted the award on behalf of Swannay brewery  from Sarah Crawford, Regional Director Scotland & Northern Ireland Branches CAMRA.

The full result is:

The Gold award goes to Swannay Brewery for Orkney IPA.

The Silver award goes to Black Isle Brewery for Hibernator.

The Bronze award goes to Orkney Brewery for Red MacGregor.


Previous Winners

2017Loch Lomond – Silkie Stout
2016Tryst – Raj
2015Cairngorm – Black Gold
2014Kelburn – Dark Moor
2013Fyne Ales – Jarl
2012Highland Brewing Company (now called Swannay) – Best
2011Isle of Skye – Cuillin Beast
2010Highland (Swannay) – Blast
2009Orkney – Raven Ale
2008Highland (Swannay) – Scapa Special
2007Highland (Swannay) – Dark Munro
2006Kelburn – Carte Blanche
2005Cairngorm – Black Gold
2004Cairngorm – Trade Winds
2003Orkney – Dark Island
2002Harviestoun – Bitter & Twisted
2001Inveralmond – Ossian Ale
2000Orkney – Dark Island
1999Harviestoun – Bitter & Twisted
1998Caledonian – Deuchars IPA
1997Caledonian – 80/-
1996Caledonian – 80/-

Close Menu